top of page
  • Writer's pictureKelly

Ricky Bobby, Rod Serling, and a Raccoon...

So I realize that my last few blog posts have been a little heavy – like Atlas-carrying-the-world heavy… like eyebrow-lifting, parental buzz-kill heavy… like stomach-sinking, red-and-blue-lights-in-the-rear-view heavy.

That much heaviness isn’t good for a body -- or a soul -- so, to balance all that emotional and spiritual weightiness, I am feeling called to share with you a collection of witticisms I have been collecting throughout the pandemic. I pray that they will tickle your funny bones and lighten your spirits. We can rest assured all that heavy stuff will be there when we feel like getting back to it…

Let's start with this one: "Weird things that make you happy..." I don't think I get that excited about sponges, but, at my house, teenage boys unload the dishwasher. As a result, there is always great rejoicing -- like angel-chorus-in-heaven-type rejoicing -- when lids are reunited with their containers.


It wouldn't seem right -- or even poetic somehow -- if I didn't include an homage to Ricky Bobby. (On a side note, Pastor Steven Sweet would be so proud of me right now since I'm pretty sure that Ricky Bobby is his spirit animal.)


Fans of the NBC sitcom, "How I Met Your Mother," will appreciate this one...


For all of you parents who are juggling new teacher duties, as well as your normal life adulting, Debbie gets you...


Enough said.


Rod Serling here is representing for all the hundreds -- maybe even thousands -- of memes I've seen about the Corona beer. Apparently, there is a keen relationship between Mexican beer drinkers and meme makers. Who knew?


For any teacher who has ever paid, bargained, or done lunch duty just to wear a pair of jeans to school... Are we over it yet?


I'll leave y'all with this little guy... If you've ever seen a 'coon wash his hands, you get it. FYI... They also like to wash their food before they eat it as well. Strange little creatures.

Anyway, thanks for laughing -- or at least grinning -- along with me for a bit. I'll be back to my serious, contemplative self really soon.


Y’all stay safe out there…

“A cheerful heart is good medicine…”

Proverbs 17:22 (NIV)

71 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page